The Pāramitās are inspirations, not fixed rules. We honor them with our conduct, speech, and thought.

Robert Aitken Roshi

The Paramitas, or perfections, deepen and grow as we sit and become more present in our lives. 

We’ll be exploring the Paramitas in our weekly Dharma sharing until the end of April 2021. Here’s a 7 minute introduction to the Paramitas by Kirk. Scroll past the video for a list of the paramitas we’ll be working with.

We’ll be working with the 10 paramitas discussed by Aitken Roshi in his book The Practice of Perfection: The Paramitas from a Zen Buddhist Perspective.

1. Giving: The Dana Paramita

2. Morality: The Shila Paramita

3. Forbearance: The Kshanti Paramita

4. Zeal: The Virya Paramita

5. Settled, Focused Meditation: The Dhyana Paramita

6. Wisdom: The Prajna Paramita

7. Compassionate Means: The Upaya Paramita

8. Aspiration: The Pranidhana Paramita

9. Spiritual Power: The Bala Paramita

10. Knowledge: The Jnana Paramita

Related topics:

Bodhisattva Vows

Zen Buddhist Precepts